New job offer. Confused!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Paolow, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Paolow

Paolow Bit Poster

Hello everyone.

Im currently working in a 1stline tech support job for a large company who supports over 17,000 users. Im studying a+ n+ mcsa and mcse. Ive only been there a few months, but the other day I recieved a call from an ISP asking me if I wanted a job as broadband installation engineer. This would be self employed and I would have to work six days a week but the money would be twice as good. My only problem now is that I have enrolled to do the mentioned certs while I work in my current job, I like the sound of the other job but is there any prospects in installing broadband in peoples homes and is it a waste of time studying for the certs that i have already paid for. Can anyone give any advice or is there anyone who has worked as an installation engineer who can shed some light as im so confused. I dont know what to do:cry::cry:

Certifications: A+
    WIP: N+ MCSA MCSE
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

You would be the same as a Sky installation engineer. Stick with the first line support job - at least you'll have a bit more exposure to technology and it will look better on your CV. Of course, the financial decision may make the other offer a no-brainer (I don't know what your financial situation is) but, career wise, you would be better off trying to solve ID ten T errors all day long, even if its infuriating at times, than you would feeding coax or phone lines into peoples' houses.

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. kat731
    Honorary Member

kat731 Megabyte Poster

Lol.... I love saying that to people!!:biggrin

Certifications: BA (Hons), A+
    WIP: 70-685 77-884
  4. Paolow

Paolow Bit Poster