New Job. Advise wanted please

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by simongrahamuk, Mar 16, 2006.

1. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Guy's today I was offered a job. Well basicaly it's the same job that I do now, but in another school, and for more money.

Now the new school runs an RM network, which in itself will be a learning curve for me as I've never used it before, But they also run three debian based linux servers, Firewall / web filter, email server, and another (cant remember what it does). This will be another learning curve.

Now what I think I'm asking is am I biting off more than I can chew? Would the learning curve be to steep? Or is it simply that I'm in the 'comfort zone' in my current job?

I think that I already know the answer in myself but just want further thoughts, as I have to give tham an answer tomorrow.

:unsure

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

simon i think its all up to you in the end.. yes more money is good! It also depends on where you want to go in IT. I know i cant comment much but since you moving into a similar enviroment just alot more new things, it will increase your knowledge and you will gain experience in linux which is something not many people can say they have the chance to!

I say good luck and seriously look into it. BTW why dont you list your MCSA in your certs? I know you dont like it because you needed 600 to pass but so did everyone else be proud of it you worked your butt of remember! :biggrin

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Coz I never set out to achieve it Zimbo! I just sort of accidently picked it up! :blink

4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster