New Home Cinema system

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Fergal1982, Oct 12, 2008.

1. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

Hey guys,

I've been thinking about picking up a new Home Cinema system - upgrading to a big ass tv, and blu-ray.

I was considering getting set up in a couple of stages: First, get the big tv. I have an xbox, so can use the component cables on it to get an instant benefit of HD (not to mention the bigger viewing area).

After that (several months after) I was thinking about buying an amp/BR player/surround sound system. I was thinking about getting Home Cinema System 4 - although I wont settle on a specific unit until I have the cash set aside to buy it (after all, things change). I do think I might get wireless adapters for the speakers though, just to make life a little easier.

I'm a total novice when it comes to these things though, does anyone in the know have any suggestions about what to get/not get?

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Around 1995 I spent over £8k putting my system in.

In wouldn't cost anything like that now as things have moved on and prices dropped. However, buying principles are the same.

Spend some time reading the Home Cinema mags and especially reviews. If you can try to compare equipment when the same reviewer has done the test. Visit some local hi-fi shops as well as the big chains.

Richer Sounds can be quite good but remember they are effectively a discount shop and you really want to make sure what you're getting first.

Hi-Fi and Home Cinema is a bit like buying antiques - quality will always show through. Try to stick to better makes where you can and avoid the cheapies.

Decide what you mainly want to watch/listen to i.e. gaming/tv/films/sport and try to see equipment running what you're mainly going to use it for.