NEW AND AFRAID

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ITGOODENOUGH007, Mar 12, 2008.

1. ITGOODENOUGH007

ITGOODENOUGH007 New Member

I RECENTLY COMPLETED MY EXAMS FOR THE A+/N+CCNA AND I AM WORKING TOWARDS MY
    MCSA TO COVER MYSELF ON THE WONDOWS ENVIROMENT.WOULD STUDYING THE NEW
    MCTS CERTIFICATIONS HELP ME IN SECURING THE JOB OR JUST MAKE EMPLOYERS
    RUN AWAY AS I HAVE NO IT RELATED WORK EXPERIENCE . :eek:

Certifications: A+ N+ CCNA
    WIP: MCSA
  2. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member

Welcome to CF! 8)

How did you study for the exams you already have? Boot Camp or self-study/lab?

If you have no IT work experience, then you really do need to be applying for entry level jobs now. I am sure many on the forum will tell you that just having lots of certs with zilch experience will not help you get a job - I am one of those.

If you're looking for entry level, they may think you're too qualified; if you're looking for higher level, then they may think you have too little experience.

Personally, I would put down on your CV that you have the A+ and possibly the N+, and go for entry level. Get some experience under your belt, whilst keeping up your knowledge of CCNA and working on your MCDST/MCTS in the background.

Best of luck.

3. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Hi & welcome to CF!:D

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

I won't add to what Giddy said - as I feel he is spot on, but I will add that the caps-lock on your machine needs switching off! :p

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. MrNerdy

MrNerdy Megabyte Poster

Hello & Welcome to CF.

Certifications: ECDL, CiscoIT1 & A+
    WIP: Girlfriend & Network+
  6. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome