1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networking & Support Route

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by quigs1969, May 12, 2011.

1. quigs1969

quigs1969 New Member

Hi Guys,

I have just obtained my BSc degree for Networking and Systems Support and I am about to sit my CCNA exam. My next move is to obtain some Microsoft Certification.

What would be the best certification for a networking and support route?

I was thinking 70-680 with Windows 7 would be useful, rather than MCDST and XP, is there a MCDST equivilent for Windows 7?

Any advice on the best certification route would be welcome.

2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster Forum Leader

Personally, I would wait to sit the CCNA because it's not an entry certification. When I graduated, I just put on my CV that I've done the Cisco Networking Academy which covered CCNA. If I were to get a job doing CCNA work, I would then follow with the certification. If you're fresh out of school, you will probably be looking for entry level work so A+, MCDST, MCP (270) are all good entry level certifications... You should aim for experience before getting the higher level certs that way, you will complement both experience/education/certifications well. It's what I did/do to get to where I am today.

Good luck!

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. DryPlate

DryPlate Nibble Poster