Network nightmare...

Discussion in 'Networks' started by kat731, Jul 25, 2007.

1. kat731
    Honorary Member

kat731 Megabyte Poster

Hi all, hope all are well,

aint been around much, but wont go into that here..

As some of you know, im an IT Tech just me and my IT manager who is very tech savvy. Well, last week he left:eek:

My new IT manager is a nice guy, but has been employed solely for his unix database skills. His tech knowledge and network know how is limited.
    We have just had an Astaro network kit put in, and now we're having probs. Im stuck, im trying to help him but hes somewhat lost. This is beyond me, but hope Zeb or BM etc could help. The following is an email from Astaro tech manager this morning which may help you lot see what the prob is without me confusing the issue.
    Thanks everyone,

Kat:biggrin

Certifications: BA (Hons), A+
    WIP: 70-685 77-884
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Looks like the guys who are responsible for the VPN tunnels have to change their endpoint (the published IP of the Astaro) as the IP address has changed.

I take it the sonicwall is the firewall on your site? It may be that the Firewall was the original endpoint for the VPN tunnels and now that has been changed the Astaro box. Basically when you create a point to point VPN in the Sonicwall you can specify a remote subnet and this takes care of the routing. As the device may not be the VPN endpoint anymore chances are those routes are not there.

I think you need to check the routing tables on all your devices and run a tracert to find out where the packets are going. It looks like you may need to add some static routes on the Astaro device to point at the sonicwall for all your remote subnets.

Can you give us some more info on the network setup? :biggrin

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. kat731