Network+ Certification

Discussion in 'Network+' started by honeydip, Mar 17, 2005.

1. honeydip

honeydip New Member

Hello everybody,

I have been working as a systems programmer for a while now but i would like to concentrate on a career in networking. My experience has been varied and i have not concentrated on any one area of IT which i think is a drawback. "Jack of all, master of none" sort of thing.

I believe my best bet is to obtain the network+ certification which would give me a leg up in this direction. I had signed up with Scheidegger to pursue this but having read so many bad reviews i decided not to go with them.

I would greatly appreciate any advice on study material, how best to study ie self study or training courses.

I have considered starting with the A+ certification but having looked at the Objectives it seems that there is a lot of hardware knowledge required. I have little hands on experience with hardware.

What should i do..

Thanks in advance...

Certifications: None
    WIP: Network+
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings honeydip. Welcome to CertForums. I don't think the A+ is necessarily a prereq for the N+ but in my opinion, having a background in hardware and basic OS would be pretty helpful. There will always be a hardware component in networking and you never know when you might have to change out a PCI NIC or manually configure a NIC's IRQ. Both certs are pretty basic and if you have a background in IT, you could probably pick up what you need with self study.

If you are looking at getting "serious" as far as networking goes, after your Network+ cert, you might want to consider the CCNA. I learned a great deal about networking while studying for that cert.