Need some carea advice, please.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by cosway, Jan 20, 2011.

1. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

Hello all I'm feeling a bit off at the moment and would appreache a bit of advice from the IT comunity (you lot).

My Background
    Currently I have a great job, I'm a network manager at a small comprehensive school, I get to spend a decent budget on kit I choose, I get to push ICT into the classrooms and make a real diffrence to the education system. I get all school holidays off, I'm back at home every evening before 4:30, I get a day a week study leave to attend uni. Basicly I love my job. I've worked hard to get it, and work hard to keep it...

But I only earn £18,000 - I'm the lowest paid Network Manager in the Local County. My wife earns a lot more than me as a Chemist Lab Technition, but she is about to loose her job, and we have a baby on the way (next 2 months). So she will probably be off for next 3-5 years

I'm about to graduate with a BSc (hons) in Computer Sci.

Before I worked in ICT support I was a web designer/computer programer. But i sufferd a run of bad empolyers, one of which messed me up so badly, I gave up ICT and drove buses for two years.

My Decission
    We've looked at our finances and we just can live off my salery alone, even making as many savings as we can - beans on toast for every meal, no 2nd car, and no holidays, etc...

There is a massive shortage of LAMP and Windows based programers (both of which I have experance of).

There is no possibility for promotion or salery increase with my current job - its set in stone by local council.

Given my background and if you where me would you.

A - Give up current job and go back to programing (earning around £25,000 p.a)?
    B - Give up current job and go to work for larger organiasation as ICT technition (earning around £18,000 p.a)?
    C - Stay in current job, burry head in sand and hope everything will sort iteslf out?