Need some advice from people who actually took the 801/802 exam

Discussion in 'A+' started by kyletech, Jan 25, 2015.

1. kyletech

kyletech New Member

I have read through few pages from this forum but have yet to find an answer, so I decided to ask the questions more specifically.

let me start with a brief background of mine: I have been building/fixing computer since I was 12. I graduated with an A.S. degree in IT recently. I have been looking for an entry level job for two months but I'm not having any luck due to my lack of work experience (however, I did go to a few interviews.) I have talked to a few IT staffing agency and most of them urge me to get a A+ to prove my competence in troubleshooting. I went ahead and watched all the videos from Professer Messer and felt confident in passing the exam. As a final step, I Downloaded a few sims to see if I'm really ready (note that I'm a poor student so I don't have the money to retake the real exam). The simulated exam really stressed me out with all the numbers that I need to memorize and I'm not sure if I can ace the exam now.

Here is my question for those who actually took the 801802 exam:

1) How detail oriented is the exam? The questions that trip me the most are something like "what is the maximum length of a USB 2.0 cable?", "name the color/voltage of pin xx on the PSU", "What is the size of the data bus and the L1 cache on a Core 2 Duo CPU?", "What is the range of Bluetooth transmitter/receivers? " I have a very good grasp on the concept and how everything works(as I mentioned I build and fix countless computer since I was 12). But I find it very hard to memorize all the number that is not all that important.