Need Help with Tunnel Endpoint Change on Cisco Pix

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Methodman85, Apr 20, 2009.

1. Methodman85

Methodman85 Byte Poster

Hello Everyone,

One of our customers is making a VPN tunnel endpoint change (New endpoint and IP address). The old endpoint will no longer be operational by the end of the month. The problem is that my manager of IT is on leave, cannot be contacted, and will not be back before then.
    So it falls in my hands to make the change. I'm a Cisco noob, and I was wondering if someone could help me with the procedure.
    Everything else will be remaining the same on the tunnel, I just need to change the IP address to reflect the new endpoint.

Certifications: MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, CCNA, MCDST, N+
    WIP: 70-680
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

If you read my earlier post - ignore it - I jumped the gun a bit! You should just be able to change the crypto map, disable ISAKMP then re-key and, with the new key, re-enable ISAKMP. That ought to do the trick - though I've not used a PIX for aeons so someone with mor erecent experience might be able to correct that if its wrong :)

PS: If you've got a non-PIX endpoint at one end of the tunnel you might have problems - PIX is (or at least was a couple of years ago) notrious for having a hissy fit with other vendors' kit...

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. Methodman85

Methodman85 Byte Poster

Thanks for your reply! Please bear with me.

I need help understanding what I see in the config.

I see:

access-list Client1 permit ip 10.11.4.40 255.255.255.248 10.14.0.0 255.255.192.0
    ->Is Client1 now a variable defined here? An access list entry that can be referenced for other use?

crypto ipsec transform-set Client esp-3des esp-md5-hmac -> The "Client" here, is this a seperate from the access-list "Client1". Is this the name for the VPN tunnel?

crypto map ibm 110 ipsec-isakmp
    -> What does this line do?