Need help deciding with whom to train for certs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Taurus, Aug 16, 2009.

1. Taurus

Taurus New Member

Hi,

I have a degree in Business and Management as well as some commercial experience (non IT related).

Because of the current economic climate I am struggling to find any business related work at the moment, even telesales vacancies are not replying to me, so I have decided to try my hand at IT. I have a keen interest in IT, particularly Technical Support, as I have built my own pc's for years and tinkered with home networks and various advanced software, its my hobby if you like 8)

I have been to "Just IT" training/recruitment company and have heard the usual sales pitch about why i should train for certificates with them. Although guaranteed (unpaid 1-2 mnth) placement sounded tempting.

Now, I did some research on other websites and on this forum and was horrified to find all such training companies are called bad names. scam this scam that. I am really puzzled, what London (where I am at) company should I go for to train for certs if all of them are considered "scams" by this forum?!

I am not particularly interested in studying from home as I prefer structured classroom approach.

From reading this forum I have worked out which certificates I need to do initially, however I have failed to find any consensus on training companies...

So, is there one or two training companies that most of you agree are worth giving 4-5k to?

thanks

Certifications: x
    WIP: x
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

you shouldn't give anyone 4-5k for training. Why can't you learn on your own?

Its cheaper, you can do it at your own pace and you can study correctly and not rip yourself off.