Need advice

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by babshy, Jun 18, 2010.

1. babshy

babshy New Member

I am an accountant by profesion but have a strong flair for everything IT. Where i worked last i also doubled as IT person in-house unofficially because of the interest i have in IT and i performed creditably well. I sort of wondering why i missed my way into accounting and not IT in the first place.

I so much developed interest in RDBMS with SQL Server and want to take certification cause on MCTS 70-433 to be precise and downloaded quite a lot of ebooks including training kits for self study, but no practical job experience. Right now am studying 'Wrox - Beginning SQL' and practising with SQL Server 2008 express edition R2.
    Any advice on my chances of suceeding. Am really determined to becoming a RDBMS Pro.

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but your chances of realistically getting a job designing or administering databases without having any real-world IT experience are extremely low. Most people get into IT and work as a tech or a programmer before eventually working their way into DBA or DBD positions, so it's a bit up the IT career ladder.

Think of a job that might be performed by accountants, but not until after they've gained a few years of experience in accounting. I'm great at numbers and statistics - I'm a Chem major and a Physics minor. But would I realistically be able to get a mid-level job as an accountant with zero experience in the field?

All that said, learning about SQL is a good way to ensure that you will be ready for the challenge when it happens. If it's something that you truly want to do, I would recommend getting an entry-level IT job and begin steering your career towards database administration or design.