My proposed build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jimbooo, Jun 17, 2008.

1. Jimbooo

Jimbooo Nibble Poster

Hi guys. I was originally going to buy a laptop for gaming, but now have been convinced otherwise. :)

I'm planning on buying all my parts from Ebuyer and building a gaming rig for the first time. However, I have no experience in the field so I was hoping for some help!

The main problem that I have is compatability. I don't know if this PSU will go with that Graphics Card, the connectors etc.. so I was hoping that this list I have will all work when put together! I need to know if it'll all work before I go buying it all! Please, take a look and comment.

Any suggestions and advice welcome! :)

Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair SKT AM2 nForce 590 SLI DDR2 SATA 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard
    PSU: Coolermaster eXtreme Power 650W PSU - ATX 12V V2.01 120mm Fan 20+4pin
    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2 GHz) Socket AM2 L2 2MB (2x1MB)
    Memory: Corsair 4GB Kit (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Memory Non-ECC Unbuffered CL5(5-5-5-18)
    Sound Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCI-Express
    Graphics Card: Point Of View 9800GX2 1GB Dual DVI TV Out PCI-E Graphics Card
    Hard Drive: Maxtor ST3410000340AS 1TB Hard Drive SATA300 7200rpm 32MB Cache
    Optical Drive: Samsung SH-S203D 20X DVD±RW/RAM/DL Serial ATA Black Bare Drive
    And the case... EV Shiny Piano Black Mid Tower Case with Colour LCD Display - No PSU

Altogether, that'll set me back £936, which is far better than I would get for buying one. Will it all work?

Certifications: 4 A-Levels
    WIP: BSc (Hons) Computing
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

not sure on how good that case will be but the rest will be ok

I am building one soon with all new parts that is more powerful than your build but not much more expensive, I think about £140 more.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?