My Plan. Your thoughts?

Discussion in 'A+' started by mcrilly, Mar 16, 2008.

1. mcrilly

mcrilly Byte Poster

Greetings,

Firstly allow me to thank you for an absolutely excellent forum. I've been looking for somewhere to verify these Compuscam style companies, and now I've found it ;)

My Situation
    OK, so here's my situation and what I plan on doing about it. Firstly, I work full-time and a total of 37.5 hours per week. I currently work as a 'Customer Servies Professional' for a telecommunications company. I get the majority of my weekends to my self and I can probably study for a good 15+ hours per week, especially seeing how badly I want to move away from the current line of work I'm in.

What I Want
    I'm seeking to move away from customer services and move into an I.T. position. What I don't want from the said position, is to be sat at a desk answering calls from individuals who have locked themselves out of their PCs. I want to acquire the:
    1. A+
    2. Network+
    3. MCSE
    4. ...and then finally my CCNP

certs throughout my new career.

What I Currently Know
    I feel my knowledge in computing grants me the (self adorned) title of 'advanced computer user' and as such, I think I should be able to handle the A+ cert. The very computer I'm typing this message on now was built by me (Pentium-D 940 3.2GHz; 2048mB of DDR PC5300 RAM; internal 80GB SATA II/3.0 HDD and finally an nVidia 8800GTS 320mB) and currently runs Windows Vista Ultimate and Fedora 8 Linux (dual-boot, of course), both of which were installed by my fine self.

With regards to networking, I have a good grip on how networks work. I've gone as far as to do a bit of socket coding in C ;) I know what a router is; I know what a switch is; I know what a NIC is; I understand what a protocol is and how they're implemented; I understand how a packet is constructed; I understand the theory behind software ports used by applications for communication across a network, etc...

My Setup Here