My Network Now and Soon to be

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Nelix, Jul 18, 2003.

1. Nelix
    Honorary Member

Nelix Gigabyte Poster

Forgive my attempt to use Visio, it's my first time

This is now

[​IMG]

and this is soon

[​IMG]

If anyone has any suggestions please speak freely

Certifications: A+, 70-210, 70-290, 70-291, 74-409, 70-410, 70-411, 70-337, 70-347
    WIP: 70-346
  2. Nelix
    Honorary Member

Nelix Gigabyte Poster

After all that hard work i have just realised that on the pic showing my network now the cable modem should be connected to the server machine.

BUMMER

:evil: :bluegrab

Certifications: A+, 70-210, 70-290, 70-291, 74-409, 70-410, 70-411, 70-337, 70-347
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Ok, so after all that, it seems the main difference is that you're running a couple of printer servers off you're switch and you have your server and self built machine on a kvm switch. Can you describe what your server "serves"? Also, the self built machine...is it a workstation or another server. What OSes do each of the machines run. I know you've probably mentioned this elsewhere, but it helps to have the info on tap when looking at the diagram.

If you like working with Visio, you should try using Cisco's Configmaker.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. Phil
    Honorary Member

Phil Gigabyte Poster

I looked at your 2 diagrams and thought there's no real difference between them apart from the router and print switches, that'd be why :D

Visio has a cool feature where you can save the files as html, if you add properties like asset numbers to the equipment when it is saved as html there is a pane on the left which displays the properties when you hold your mouse over an item.

Certifications: MCSE:M & S MCSA:M CCNA CNA
    WIP: 2003 Upgrade, CCNA Upgrade
  5. Phil
    Honorary Member

Phil Gigabyte Poster

Nelix