My job hunting as a junior has finally come to an end!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jvanassen, May 1, 2012.

1. jvanassen

jvanassen Kilobyte Poster

Hi

Thought I would share my experience with other users in a hope to help other people who are struggling to find that first junior role job within IT.

I have been working in retail since i left school 8 years ago, im now going to be 24 on Monday. Last year I came to the decision that i was going to head down the IT route as it was just ridiculous that i wasn't already working within the industry as i had such an interest init and spent much of my childhood playing around with computers.

Last year i started off my self study certification route after much guidance from friends and people on this forum. I started studying for my CompTIA A+ and passed both exams towards the end of last year. I then started applying for jobs in the hope that my 8 years of customer service experience and the A+ would land me a 1st line support job. After applying for hundreds of jobs over the space of a few months i was hearing nothing back what so ever.

I decided to build myself a basic website, get some leaflets and business cards done and basically start my own business not necessarily to earn money but to be able to put some more experience down on my CV. It went really well and i started earning a good amount of extra money through this. Aswell as this in the meantime i had been cracking on with my CompTIA Network+ and i passed it at the beginning of March.

Once i had passed this Network+ exam i was certain that i would now finally get some replys from all these jobs i was applying for. I was thinking "yea im A+ and Network+ certified and have my buisness as experience on my CV aswell as lots of customer service experience. I will finally get a job"