My experience with The Business Development Academy

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by sfcman, Aug 11, 2009.

1. sfcman

sfcman New Member

I have just had the (mis?)fortune being invited in for a chat at "Academies International" aka "The Business Development Academy", and wanted to share my experience with everyone since I've not been able to find any concrete 3rd party information about this company, or anyone who's been through their programs online.

Brief background on me: I'm a graduate (graduated in 2008) currently working for a small IT firm in London, I've got a bit of experience in all sorts of things but I don't have any certificates to back this experience up (hopefully not for long though). I'm currently looking for a new Job since I have decided to move on from my current position.

Now for the story:

I posted my new CV up on reed.co.uk, and I made it searchable by recruiters. Around 2-3hours later I get a phone call from a representitive of "Academies International" (the same as "Business Development Academy"). She asked if I'm looking for work or if I'm in full time employment; I told them the latter. She went on to say that they have a "1st/2nd line support" position for me for around £30k, and that they will provide all the training required etc. for certifications. I asked what the company did and I was told with some hesitation that they were recruiters.

I was on a holiday from work and was looking for a new position anyway, so I thought "what do I have to lose?"