My CV for criticism / opinions / appraisal :)

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Mikeyboy, Nov 23, 2009.

1. Mikeyboy

Mikeyboy Kilobyte Poster

Been meaning to do this for ages,

Just wanted to post my CV to get peoples opinions on it - I am fairly happy with it, I get plenty of responses so it must be a reasonable one but just want to see if it can be improved at all :)

Attached Files:

Certifications: VCP,MCSA, MCP, MCDST, MCITP, MCTS, A+, N+
  2. scott-jordy

scott-jordy Bit Poster

Looks good to me like i the layout you went for think a good choice of font to ,i went to detailed on mine cant give any pointers because im still learning to get it right myself but this looks good:thumbleft

Certifications: Ecdl A+ Mcp 271
    WIP: Network + Mcdst Then ????
  3. Alex399

Alex399 Byte Poster

Very good CV, very easy to read and straight to the point in terms of your skill set.

Are you aiming for a 1st/2nd line support role or are you looking to move onto the servers????, the reason I ask is that I would say in the short time Ive been on cert forums Ive learn't that displaying cetain certs can give potential employers the wrong impression.

For example you have displayed on your CV that your looking to take the MCSA and MCSE in the near future, Now if your applying for a 1st/2nd line role, an employer would look at this and think "as soon as he gets those certifications (MCSA and MCSE) he is going to jump on the first boat he can get onto out of this company to progress to his desired role to be able to make use of those certifications" thus making you not a good investment for the company, as it costs them money to train you and train another person to replace you should you not be at that company for long, due to finding alternative employment working on servers perhaps shortly after starting employment with "that company" which is what I assume you would be aiming for in the long run at this point in time.