Multiboot setup for Win 98; 2000; XP & Linux

Discussion in 'A+' started by freeflyer, Mar 6, 2007.

1. freeflyer

freeflyer New Member

Hi, I’m just about to create a multiboot system that offers a range of flavours including Windows 98, 2000, XP Home or Pro and Linux.

I wanted get some advice & feedback from the forum on my prospective set up (below) in as much as choosing the right order of install and which O/S goes on which disk, in hope that any obvious errors are avoided before I start.

I plan on using two separate HDD’s with the first HDD formatted as DOS / FAT32 for Win 98 & the 2nd HDD being formatted as NTFS. I am aware of the issues / problems using NTLDR with a non Microsoft O/S’s multiboot setup, but luckily I have the option of using BootMagic that came with the copy of Powerquests Partition Magic I have. I have no Linux experience as yet either.

Anyone done this before? Any advice & ideas appreciated; Thanx in advance!

Setup plan is:
    HDD1; partition 1 set as primary partition using FAT32 for Win 98
    Partition 2 to be extended DOS partition, which will be subdivided into 2 logical partitions for;
    Partition 3; Fat32 data store
    Partition 4: possible later Linux install

HDD2; partition 1 set as primary partition using NTFS for Win 2000
    Partition 2 to be extended partition, which will be subdivided into 3 logical partitions for;
    Partition 3; XP Pro or home
    Partition 4; NTFS data store
    Partition 5; possible later Linux install

Does this sound right?:oops:

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Install the oldest OS first, then install each newer OS. Separate partitions, as you've indicated. Not sure about when to install Linux... probably the last OS to install.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+