MS Virtual PC Advice

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by anthony micallef, Sep 2, 2009.

1. anthony micallef

anthony micallef Bit Poster

Im currently studying for the 290 exam and have installed a W2003 Virtual Machine on my laptop called Server01 using the evaluation disc that came with the MS Press book. Now if I want to install another VM called Server02 do I just install it in the same way? Im just wondering what happens in terms of having to re use the product key etc.

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I use virtual pc and have win2k3 3 copies of xp and ubuntu and have them all networked together all you do is create a new VHD (virtual hard disk).

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. anthony micallef

Thank you for your help, server02 now installed.

4. anthony micallef

I have installed Server02 but for some reason I cannot get it to connect to the domain. I have a Server01 installed as a DC and a DNS server. I can ping server02 by name so Im not sure whats going wrong. Can anyone give me some suggestions please?

5. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

Have you added the Server name into Active Directory as a Computer?

Have you joined the Server to the Domain?

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  6. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Make sure server02 is pointing to server01 for DNS.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  7. Shinigami

Shinigami Megabyte Poster

What does NSLOOKUP say if you query for something like type=srv?