MS Applications programming route advice

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by PeteD, Jun 30, 2009.

1. PeteD

PeteD New Member

Hi, I'm looking at doing the MS Applications programming route. Been talking to Advent and NITLC and they're probably great, but expensive... I'm a fairly experienced programmer already, just not in anything that modern so following advice here I'm looking at self-studying.

Has anyone done this route? How much does it actually cost in course materials and exams to say intermediate level? And whats it like in getting a job just with exams but no experience (in .net)? (I see some companies do provide experience).

As an asside, does anyone know anything about a company called "IT Futures Online", their costs where fairly reasonable but their website has dissappeared for at least a few weeks now...

2. LordMoolyBap

LordMoolyBap Nibble Poster

For the programming, experience is the important thing. The MS certifications are good but teach programming in a bad way. The languages themselves are generally easy to learn. The more important things are the patterns you use (ie how you use the language).

For example the MCTS in .NET Windows Programming promotes Drag and Drop for SQL connectors and Data Adapters which I have never seen used in a professional environment.

I would start by getting the Visual Studio Express (vb or c# whichever you prefer) and then just start learning. Wrox Press do some good books (they are red with the authors faces on). Follow the tutorial vids from the MSDN website and then look at some of the Microsoft Press books if you want to get certified. Just remember that experience and examples of your work (if you have little experience) are more important.

Dom

Certifications: HND (Comp) MBCS
    WIP: Msc Intelligent Systems
  3. PeteD

PeteD New Member