Motivation and Self Study

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Griffon, Oct 18, 2006.

1. Griffon

Griffon Bit Poster

Hi all,

Best place I could find for posting this feel free to move it if there is somewhere more relevant.

Like a lot of people I am persuing certs that are not related to my current job (doing the certs as part of career change or to apply for other jobs) and through self study. I have hit the same motivation block that I ran head long into when doing the A+.

When I started studying (for the Network + this time around) I was THE model student, every spare moment was spent making notes, I would read Groth on my lunch etc etc. Now fatigue is setting in. On my way home from the job I hate I plan on doing loads of work to help me get out of that particular latrine. Then I walk through the front door and the last thing on my mind is any form of study.

I can't be the only one that has these troughs. What techniques, hints and tips do you have for combating this kind of thing?

I have managed to drag myself into soem notes and reading Groth on my lunch today, so I may have turned a corner, but tactics for next time would be good!

Certifications: A Degree, A+
    WIP: Network+, MCDST
  2. nugget
    Honorary Member

nugget Junior toady

I've also had this problem. I found the best way for me to get through it was to book the exam. That date is a great motivator to sit down and study as it comes around a lot quicker than you think. :D

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  3. bmurray2005

bmurray2005 Bit Poster

thats about right, i havent booked the exam yet (a+) but i do kow its changing in march so i have until then to get through the coursework i have.