Mobile Staff Using VPN

Discussion in 'Networks' started by nXPLOSi, Jan 19, 2011.

1. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

Hi All,

Im hoping someone can help me with a little issue i've got here at the moment.

We're in the process of creating a ASP.NET Application that our field staff will need to access through a VPN on their mobile devices. So far i've got the plan of putting the server thats hosting this in a DMZ behind a Watchguard firewall. The problem I have (and its probably a silly one) is that I have very little experience with VPN's. Our field staff are going to be using mobile broadband to connect into the server, but im wondering what options I have when allowing this access through the firewall?

The first thing I thought was a Static IP boardband that is then allowed through the firewall via the VPN, but looking at a few providers that don't seem to be able to supply Static IP mobile broadband. Im sure there is an obvious answer out there that im missing but working 8 til 8 on this application is frying my brain! Help! :blink

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  2. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

If i understand correct, they will be using a VPN to get onto the corporate network. From here, they will have an IP Address assigned to them from VPN pool. It will be this address you want to allow through the firewall to the DMZ.

But then if your VPN takes them into the corporate network, it seems silly to me to then put the server they will be accessing in a DMZ (if your only reason for doing so was for VPN users to access it).

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  3. dales

dales Terabyte Poster