Microsoft Policy

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by mattwest, Apr 7, 2004.

1. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

I was just wondering if anyone here is worried about Microsoft and its future.

I'm a MS fan, i like their operating systems and love MS office. On the desktop it rules, and it is a good server OS. But a year into my new job (primarily Linux) i can see that Linux has alot of advantages at the server end of the market.

It can be a pain to install and configure but for virtually zero £ you can setup file, print and web servers. (very stable too, few reboots).

Does anyone think MS should reduce its prices so not to lose out to Linux?

Personally i think MS should give its windows and office systems to the public sector (and schools especially) for free, or dirt cheap. I used to work in a school so i know MS prices are cheaper, but still out of budget for many schools.

What better way to ensure your future than have 90% of all school leavers completely familiar with your software?

It puzzles me why they dont do this. Any thoughts?

I hope Linux continues to go strong, but i dont want to see MS lose too much ground to linux on the desktop front (boy do i not like star office!)

Matt

Just my rant! :)

Certifications: See my signature...
    WIP: Maybe re-certify my CCNA
  2. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

Good points there, Matt - I reckon they're going to have to do some significant things to re-think their future, I mean Linux is gaining support in some pretty big Institutions / Government departments, etc.

Just look at the recent dropping of support for Windows 98 by MS - they were forced to withdraw that (ie continue to support it) after the realisation that Linux was fast becoming a genuine option for the desktop.

I think this Thread could run for a bit - well introduced, Matt :D

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  3. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster