MCSE and Computeach - please help!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Edgar Davids, Aug 26, 2005.

1. Edgar Davids

Edgar Davids New Member

Hi all,

I am new to this board and, as you will soon see new to IT altogether. I have just spent some time reading other messages in these forums and have gained some excellent information. Most responses seem well thought out and sensible.

I am 25 years old and live in the South-East of England within commutable distance of London. I currently work as an Administrator for 20k p.a. and have no technical experience of IT.

Having deceided that I needed to give my career some direction, I contacted Computeach and received a visit from one of their 'advisors' regarding the MCSE course.

Having had the chat and all that goes with it, it has raised as many questions as it has answered. Therefore I would be immensely grateful for some feedback on the following:

1) I have been quoted £5000 for the MCSE with Computeach. This figure is not beyond my means but for this I would like to know that I had made a sound investment in my future. Is this roughly what I can expect with all providers?

2) The 'self-study' route. What exactly does this entail? How much cheaper is it? Would I realistically be able to attempt this with no prior knowledge?

3) Part of the Computeach programme is to try and find you work in the industry whilst you study to gain invaluable experience. Have they delivered in this for others? Can I realistically expect a salary comparable to or in excess of my existing 20k during this period?

4) The MCSE itself. I am led to believe it is very hard but can be achieved with hard work and commitment. Is this the case? Or does a beginner like me have no chance?

5) Assuming I get the MCSE through Computeach. What sort of salary could I realistically command? Most importantly, am I employable? Are there jobs out there for people such as myself?