MCSDT - no direct experience

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by ElNewbie, May 16, 2010.

1. ElNewbie

ElNewbie New Member

Hello all, I'm new to this forum and have one or two questions I'd like to ask. Before I start though, I'd better explain my background and education. I hold a BSc (hons) in Mathematics and also an MSc in Cartography (based in mapping with elements of computing, but sparked my interest in IT) . I have a lot of experience using Microsoft Office, Internet explorer, installing windows at home and some introductory programming in VBA. My previous job was a month long assignment updating a large Access database. I also have experience in a service environment through retail and have dealt with enquiries over the phone.

The thing is, like a lot of people my age at present, work is very difficult to come by. I was thinking of self-studying my way through the MCDST in a bid to try and get an entry level helpdesk position and work my way up to something senior afterwards. I have not had much luck so far in this area. Would this be worthwhile as I know that the course is aimed for professionals with approx 6 months experience? My long term aim is to get into either programming or database administration.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: May 16, 2010
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Welcome

The MCDST is an entry level cert so yes getting it is ok if your looking for your first IT job. Other entry level certs are compTIA A+ and Network+

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. scubatron

scubatron New Member

I agree with greenbrucelee

compTIA A+ is a hardware orientated test which I would also recommend , you will have the urge to do some upgrading on your PC before the end course

I have just completed the NCDST through self study, I have no experience working in IT so don't worry about having 6 months experience it's an entry level cert