Mcsa Or Mcse

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Ingramator, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Ingramator

Ingramator Bit Poster

Hey guys, im new to this so sorry for the newbie questions.

But which should I do first MCSA or MCSE or does it not matter?

Hope you can help

Rhys

2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

It goes MCSA and then MCSE.

See the requisites here - http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcsa.aspx

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. Ingramator

Ingramator Bit Poster

thank you very much, you have been very helpfull.

4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

According to this post, you don't work in IT yet. I would say forget about the MCSA and MCSE for now and concentrate on the basics first of all: the A+, Network+ and the MCDST.

Remember the higher end professional IT certifications are there to reflect your job role & responsibilities and not to be used as a substitute for experience. Alot of IT managers (including myself) disregard those higher certs if the experience does not match.

There's an article re entry level certs, see here.

Plus do not be fooled/forced into "quick" programs promising you a job and salary of £20k-£30k pa only after a 4 week to 6 month program. If it was really true, every one of us would have done that route and be on £50k by now.

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  5. Ingramator

Ingramator Bit Poster