MCSA learning methods in UK..

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by garyb, Feb 27, 2007.

1. garyb

garyb Byte Poster

Hi,
    I have been a lone Windows Sys Admin for 9 years covering NT4, 2000, 2003, Exchange, Firewalls 98 & XP looking after 90 users. My company has now decided to offer employees training courses and exams in the UK so I thought I would take adavantage and have a crack at the MSCA 2003 using online tutoring at http://www.microsoft-certification.co.uk/mcsa_training.htm#2 003.

70-291, 70-290, 70-270 & 70-299

Can anyone advise if this is my best method, would study/cram books or classroom study be more suitable. I have full access to 2003 servers, firewalls and XP boxes. Also is it preferable to study one exam at a time then do the exam immediately or wait until all study is complete?

Many thanx for your invaluable advice.

Gary

WIP: MCSA 2003
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

My advice would be to start with the client exam (70-270), then do the server exam (70-290) and then the 70-291. Do the 299 last.

Unless you have the brain the size of a planet, I'd do them one at a time. Study for one, then go for the exam, then rinse & repeat.

As for study materiels, Learnkey are very good and Transcender test exams are very very good to help prepare for the exam itself.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I agree with Modey, even though there is some overlap between courses/exams it is alot easier to study for each exam one at a time.

I remember when I did the 2k route, I did all the courses then had to relearn what I forgot in order to take the exam. It actually took me longer that way than to study per exam.

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+