1. gmbaxter

gmbaxter Bit Poster

Hi,

I have been working in IT for 5 years now since completing my degree. My current role is "second in network services" at a large HE college. I supervise a team of technicians and provide 2nd line support. I have a lot of experience with windows server 2003/2008 and client xp/7. I do a lot of network configuration with cisco devices and completed the taught modules of the CCNA in 2008. Main server work is AD, GPO, WDS, radius/NPS, fileserving and permissions.

I wish to gain an MCITP:EA certification as I believe that it will formailse my existing knowledge and also teach me new things/best practices. I think this is what I need to advance my career.

I've seen a set of books on Amazon for about £110 which cover the MCITP exams and was thinking of getting these and self studying - I have a vlab at work which I VPN into from home, rather than purchasing my own computer for this purpose.

I looked on the MS learning site and found that the MCITP:EA (2008) is only running up until July 2013 - I'm unsure whether I can study and sit 5 exams in a single year - what are people views on this? I did think about waiting for server 2012 but was unsure on whether this would be seen as valid since there won;t be many early adopters.

Any input appreciated.

Thanks.

Certifications: BSc (Hons) Computer Network Technology, ACSP, ACTS
    WIP: MCSA (2012)
  2. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

Sounds like a pretty nice setup you have got already, have you already got any formal certifications to bring you up to this point or will this be the first one

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  3. gmbaxter

gmbaxter Bit Poster

I have two apple certifications, Apple Certified Support Professional (ACSP) and Apple Certified Technical Co-ordinator (ACTC), plus a BSc (Hons) in Computer Network Technology. That's it so far!

4. Kitkatninja