MCITP : Server Administrator question.

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by dhenderson, Oct 31, 2011.

1. dhenderson

dhenderson Bit Poster

Hi all

I am recently about to start a new role as a Junior ICT Infastructure trainee at a company and they want me to get the MCITP: Server administrator in a year.

They are paying for my training and everything and i was just wondering what the exams are like as i have never done a MS one before. Ive got my compTIA A+ and Net+.

I have only just managed to find a way of looking at Server 2008 and Active Directory ( I have never touched these before in my life) through a Cloud VM based website.

My worry is, how difficult are the exams for someone with no experience and is it possible to pass all 3 in a year?

Thanks

Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
    Certifications: CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network +
    WIP: MCTS: 70-640 - Active Directory Server 2008 , configuring.
  2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

You would be better off getting a book on Windows server 2008 as well as playing with the software. I'd get this done through vmware or Microsoft's virtual PC both have free versions you can download.

Also since your company is paying for your training I would ask them to buy the Trainsignal videos on Windows server 2008. Best wishes and get on cracking with it and keep us posted on your progress:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  3. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

You've landed a cracking role there if they're going to put you through the MCITP:SA - nice one!

It is hard work if you've got minimal experience, but as onoski has said, if they're paying for it, they won't mind spending good money on good training material.