MCDST - second thoughts?

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Stuka, Mar 7, 2010.

1. Stuka

Stuka Nibble Poster

Hi all,

I need some guidance. I've been a IT technician for roughly 3 years. It's my first job in IT. Prior to this, I did an IT degree, and over the last two years I've completed my A+ and N+.

I'm hoping to pursue some sort of career down the "server side" of computing. The other tech who I work with suggested that I study for the MCDST. He recommended that its a good starting point as it'll get me an MCP and put me on the right track towards the likes of certificates such as the MCSE/A.

I've started reading the MS MCDST book and I can't help but think that its not the book I *should* be reading, as its aimed at people who want to work as helpdesk/support techs. I've done the support role as an IT tech for 3 years solid (in which time I've worked a lot with XP and done moderate server work) and I feel that reading about supporting XP is just old hat to me...

...I'll get to the point. Is it worth me sticking out the MCDST just to get an MCP on my CV? Even if I'm wanting to learn about servers? Am I running before I can walk?

Cheers fellas.

Last edited: Mar 7, 2010
    Certifications: IT 2:1 Degree, A+, N+, MCDST
    WIP: MCITP
  2. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

The point of certs is to certify your knowledge, not to learn new stuff. I imagine after 3 years of supporting XP you just need to fill in the gaps and learn how to think the MS way as far as the MCDST goes.
    With the A+ and N+ already in the bag you might be better off going for the 70-270, that'll give you half an MCSA and you'll just have the two server exams to do once your experience catches up with your desire.

Last edited: Mar 7, 2010
    Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  3. Stuka

Stuka Nibble Poster