MCAD/MCTS Any Bank Workers - Advice Please

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by Lucky_81, Feb 19, 2008.

1. Lucky_81

Lucky_81 New Member

Hi,

Hoping somebody out there can give some advice who currently works for or knows about programming for front office traders in a bank/hedge fund.

I am currently a trader for a prop house, but want to gain some certification and knowledge of programming as a back up and a view to move over to programming in the future.

I have market business knowledge but only have basic VB.net and some Excel VBA knowledge. What I am after is some advice on the best way to move forward. I noticed that c# and c++ are more regularly advetised by recruiters so was looking at MCAD c#? Advice?

Also from a banks point of view, I presume going down the applications route rather than web applications would be preferred?

Also any advice on how to complete MCAD, training providers, books etc much appreciated. Do I have enough knowledge to start MCAD, as I said i have basic VB knowledge and some Excel VBA by reading a few books, but that is it. Does anyone know a good route from beginner to MCAD without going through a+ and going up?

2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Hi Lucky, and welcome to CF:) you can learn the MCAD through self study. In terms of books I'd advice you go for the MS press books and start looking at www.microsoft.com/learning as that's where you'd get precise information about this cert.

On the other hand considering you have knowledge on VB.net and MS Excel the C#, C++ would hopefully through determination not give you much of a hard time grasping the concepts. Anyway, go for it as with hard work and determination you can achieve a lot. Best wishes:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  3. BrizoH

BrizoH Byte Poster

I work for a company that produces web apps/tools for fund managers - so slightly related I guess.