MAC vs PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JMESSY, Mar 29, 2009.

1. JMESSY

JMESSY Banned

Hello all,

forgive me if a question like this has been posted on here before. I am new to this and just need a little advice from you guys.

right.

I am really hard into my music making and I am looking to upgrade to the best but I am a little stuck so here goes.

I currently own a PC here are the spec:
    19"
    Windows XP pro2 SP2
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU
    3.40Ghz / 3.39Ghz
    1GB RAM.
    500GB Hard Drive

and i am looking to get a mac but can not afford a power mac and i do not like the macbook etc... I am looking at a iMac.

The specs for this iMac are as follows:
    24"
    2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor
    4GB Memory
    640GB Hard Drive
    Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard - Operating system

so here it is. is my current system better than this mac although i know that Mac is the way to go in regards to making music.

any feedback please people i am open to all.

cheers guys.

Certifications: ECDL, MCDST, MCSA, MCSE
  2. Gav

Gav Kilobyte Poster

Well, arguably the Core 2 Duo is much faster. It depends entirely what software you want to use. If you want to use Logic, then you need a Mac, if not, then you can probably live with a PC! :biggrin

3. Gingerdave

Gingerdave Megabyte Poster

Jmessy

It comes down to what can you do more with a Mac then your current rig? Unless there is a program that will not run under windows that you need, you are likely wasting your money.

Certifications: A+,MCP, MCDST, VCP5 /VCP-DV 5, MCTS AD+ Net Inf 2008, MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  4. Pheonicks56

Pheonicks56 Kilobyte Poster

EDIT You are likely wasting a TON of your money, seeing as how macs cost a fortune compared to a PC you can build yourself.

Certifications: BSIT, AAIT, A+
    WIP: Network+
  5. JMESSY

JMESSY Banned

hey guys thanx for the quick replies.