Mac support jobs?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by sub_bass, Feb 20, 2008.

1. sub_bass

sub_bass New Member

Hello all,

I got a phone call and email from a recruitment agency about a helpdesk role supporting mac users. The problem is that I don't know much about Macs and the programs they will use, therefore I'm not feeling that confident in such a role like this ( I would be if it was on Windows!). My other concern is that I obviously won't get to learn Active Directory and Microsoft stuff (and the things junior people usually will do) in the future in this role and company. The upside is that I'll be able to get helpdesk/phone experience.

I've never worked in IT before and I know how hard it is to get an entry level job with so much competition. So I kind of have mixed feelings about this and lean more towards a job that supports Windows users :D

What do you think?

2. BosonJosh

BosonJosh Gigabyte Poster

You may get help desk/phone experience, and at least some of that experience will translate, but you'll be spending a lot of time learning something that you don't really want to do. If you don't like the idea of supporting the Mac, then I suggest passing on the opportunity. What would happen in a couple of years when you're ready to move on to a junior level systems engineer and you have no experience support Windows computers? You'll probably have to start all over again on the Windows side, so taking this job doesn't make much sense if you don't want to support Macs long term.

3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

MY work place used to be roughly 40% MACS 59% PCs and 1% SunSolaris. The MACS were usually used by the people in the studio who used graphics programs to create adverts for the Newspapers we produce but the company has moved on and its all PCs these days with photoshop.

So the job could be supporting users who are using graphics programs. Good Luck