LPIC

Discussion in 'Other IT certifications' started by Moif, Aug 22, 2007.

1. Moif

Moif Bit Poster

Hi,

I'm very much interested in studying for my LPIC. Has anyone completed this certification recently in a classroom? If so then which company did you use and what did you think of them?

There are so many out there that it's starting to get a little mind boggling.

Thanks

2. thetokyoproject

thetokyoproject Byte Poster

hey mate, welcome to the forum!

a lot people seem to be preaching the benefits of self study. this does seem to be the way to go.

since linux distributions are free and can run on even older obsolete hardware, you should be able to set yourself up a test lab at home with minimum cost.

although i'm studying for MS exams at the mo', i have worked with solaris in the past and have enjoyed using unix. i;m thinking of doing the linux+ or maybe the LPIC sometime in the future.

i think a few companies have had linux installed as either standalone machines or as part of the domain as they recognise that there are certain places where linux can be both economically and technically viable. the problem still remains with support from vendors though.

there is a lot of potential work out there for linux profs as a lot isps, banks and datacenters still rely heavily on unix.

good luck with study!

Certifications: 271
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

I'll put my 2 cents worth in on this one.

I spent 2 1/2 years working on an MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, and an A+. I have spent another 2+ years looking for jobs with no luck. Not a thing other than someone who wanted to use me to screw someone else over. The market is so glutted with MS certs and out of work MS techs that anyone trying to break into the field isn't competing on a level playing field.