Looking to get out of dead end job path

Discussion in 'General CompTIA Certifications' started by Seth Parker, Jun 6, 2015.

1. Seth Parker

Seth Parker New Member

I've been working in Call centers for the last 10 yrs and am tired of it. I want to get into the IT field.

I was netware CNA certified back in the early 2000's. I did a few jobs on a temporary basis back then but nothing I can put on a resume. I have no formal IT training at all. Most of my knowledge is learned by doing for myself and friends and family. I have built and repaired many computers both mine and friends and family. Again no formal training in any of this.

I am not sure what route to take. I was looking at the MTA certifications

Windows Operating System Fundamentals 98-349

Windows Server Administration Fundamentals 98-365

Networking Fundamentals 98-366

Security Fundamentals 98-367

I thought I could get those then move on to MCSA 70-680 and 70-685. I am not sure if an A+ certification would be also good to have? Well after some research I see the best route to go at this time would be A+ and Network+.

I saw this Boot Camp class which is being offered very close to my house. I thought I would sign up for it. I learn better in an instructor led scenario rather then self learning. I will do all the free A+ videos out there before attending the class.

TrainingCamp is the site I saw the Boot Camp on. Since I am new here the site won't allow me to post a link. Go Figure.

Now I have no preset knowledge about the IT field. I am looking for an entry level position. Again my experience is all personal nothing formal.

2. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

Hey seth