looking to get into the feild

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jonatron5, Jan 10, 2015.

1. jonatron5

jonatron5 New Member

Greetings all. I am a fellow tech guy trying to get into the feild for a job.

I am 20 years old i have had two kobs in my lifetime walmart and macdonalds respectivly.
    ( I have always been a hobbyist tech guy, and I was informed about how good the money is in the tech feild, which I know its not alot but for a 20 year old like me starting at 30grand a year Is a heck of alot more then double what I earn now and thats the low end of tech work)

Am in college for it at the moment. I currently hold a comptia security+ certificate. And after the holidays settle down im going to work on getting my network+ certificate. Now right now im gunning for like an entry level helpdesk or techsupport guy. Maby even a genereal tech for like an office building or something.

Now ive been pushing some resumes around and ive not gotten many call backs. And the ones I have the main problem is they want someone full time. Wich I cant really do till I get off college for the summer.

So my short term goal is to get good grades this semester and earn my network cert.

Any suggestions as to what I can do to achieve my goal?

Ps. I live in an incredibly rural area of a very poor rural state. I had to drive an hour just to take my security exam so if I consider taking a full time job I will have to consider housing expenses

And am I on target with the pay grade?

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

So one of the things you don't mention is the country you live in, salary is very dependant on a number of things, one of which is country and location within that country.