Looking to get a job in IT but dont know where to start!!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by transformer2010, Aug 28, 2010.

1. transformer2010

transformer2010 Bit Poster

Hi everybody hows it going?? good I hope...

Im new to the forum and I really want to try and get a job in I.T.
    A few years ago I did a degree in Leisure Management, but after 5 years working in the leisure industry with lack of prospect :cry: im looking into changing my career. Ive been interested in computers for ages but do not know where to start!! :rolleyes:

I dont really want to go back to uni as im 30 and already have a student loan to pay off, is there any way I can get a good job in IT without a computer degree? :(

Ive always had an interest in repair etc and have been looking at doing the COMPTIA A+ award or The National BTEC Award in Computer Engineering by Kandu education centre. Which is the best one to do? or are there other courses I could do like MCSE or MCSA that would be more beneficial?

Any comments or help would be greatly appreciated! im lost iin this big bad world and need a little direction! cheers :)

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

compTIA A+,Network+ and MCDST are the certs to start with.

The MCSA and MCSE are certs designed for people with job experience in those relevant areas. So having those certs would do you more harm than good. THe MCSA requires you to have had at least 6 months as a network admin and the MCSE require you to have atleast 12 months as a systems engineer.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Yes but please be prepared to take a drop in salary, especially at your age. You have to understand that coming into IT you stand a good chance of having to start at the bottom again, not so hard at 21 - 22 but at 30 that can hit you in the pocket quite hard.