looking to break into IT - need help! -thx

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by the_beast, Sep 26, 2007.

1. the_beast

the_beast Bit Poster

hello everyone. i am looking to break into a career in IT. To do this i am looking to do a MCSE in database. However i need some further advice. I have been told that MCSE is a 'dead end' career. I am a recent graduate in economics and i want a career change.

what are the future earning potentials?
    is the MCSE in demand by the big consultancy firms such as CAPgemini, accenture etc?
    which is the best training vendor - i am interested in advent?
    I am looking to study full time - how fast will i be able to complete the course?
    Is the course technical?
    if i do the MCSE database can my skills be applied to other applications such as ITIL and Prince II?

thank you very much

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi welcome.

Not sure why MSCE is a dead end career or whoever told you that is talking crap in my opinion.
    Secondly if you look at older threads around here you'll see a lot of posts about how good or bad they are advent is mentioned a lot.

Why don't you self study and save yourself a lot of money

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. ajs1976

ajs1976 Byte Poster

There is no MCSE database certification. The MCSE focuses on the the Windows Server platform. If you are interested in working in Microsoft databases look into the MCDBA or the MCTS exam that focus on MS SQL.

Certifications: MCSE, CCEA, Sec+, L+, N+
    WIP: 2008, CAG, or CCENT (not sure)
  4. greenbrucelee

Yep sorry slightly mis-read the post ajs1976 is correct the MSCE is for people wishing to become Microsoft certified system engineers, its the MCDBA that you want.

5. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Welcome to CF.