Looking for advice...

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Trogan, May 24, 2011.

1. Trogan

Trogan New Member

Hi all,

I work as an IT/desktop support for a charity and have been for about 7 months. I have learnt quite a bit on the job and I want to take a course that will benefit the company and myself. My employers would be willing to help fund the course for me - depending on a couple factors.

It has been recommended for me to do Comptia A+, MCTS certification in Windows 7 and possibly Windows Server 2008. The cost for all three would be £1495 on a Blended Learning Virtual Instructor basis.

I would appreciate some advice. Thanks.

2. kfoulks2011

kfoulks2011 Bit Poster

sounds like a good plan. A+ is where i would recommend you to start. Thats the intro to everything and most other certifications build off of it in some way or another. In most cases, text books already assume that you have A+. I would also recommend throwing net+ in there as well. Alot of good material in those 2 certs that will help you in the long run.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCP (70-270)
    WIP: 70-680
  3. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

If you work with Windows 7 and Server 2008 then that sounds like a sensible plan (perhaps with Network+ thrown in).
    However, £1495 doesn't sound like a sensible price. A book, a set of quality practice exams and free stuff on the internet (like Professor Messer's free A+ and MCTS video courses) will cost less than £100 for each exam.
    I don't know why a course would cost you 5 times more than study material you can buy off the shelf. I doubt the material is 5 times better because there just isn't 5 times the improvement to be made on the available material.

Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  4. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

As soundian said, i wouldn't spend £1495 on a course, sounds expensive.