Looking for advice on finding an IT job

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by RogueTrooper, Jul 1, 2008.

1. RogueTrooper

RogueTrooper Bit Poster

Hi, I've just completed my MCAD and am looking for a job. I also have a CIW Site Designer cert and an ECDL.

First, a little of my background. I graduated from university with a 2.1 Biology degree in 1996 thinking that I would easily find a job, but the reality is that life science jobs are thin on the ground and very low-paid. I did do a series of cr*ppy temp jobs until I became ill with depression. I have been out of work for nearly 10 years, partly because of my illness and partly because I couldn't find suitable work.

I have been using computers in some form or other since I was 11(my first computer was a ZX81) and am very passionate about IT. I have taught myself several programming languages - C/C++, Java, C#, Python and Ruby. I decided that IT would be a good career to go into, because of my love for computers and the general availability of jobs.

Now I've completed my certs, I am thinking about developing my job-seeking strategy. Can anyone give me any advice on the kind of job I should be looking at for an entry-level position? I'd like to concentrate on the .NET development side of things rather than website design, since I find it more interesting and challenging. Additionally, are there any hot technologies I should be looking at to give me an edge. I've been playing around with WPF and Silverlight 1.0(still waiting for Silverlight 2 to come out of beta). I'm also worried about how my previous mental health problems will affect my chances of employment. Although the Disability Discrimination Act 2005 makes it illegal to discriminate unfairly, I am also aware of the extent of prejudiced beliefs held by employers. In a study by Mind, they found that only 40% of employers interviewed said that they would employ someone with a history of mental health problems.