Looking for a foot in the door

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Andy L, Dec 22, 2007.

1. Andy L

Andy L Bit Poster

I graduated from uni last summer and applied for numerous graduate/entry-level desktop support and networking jobs, as I'd prefer something more hands-on than a helpdesk role. When applying to companies directly or through the local graduate employment scheme (i.e. not through agencies or internet job sites), I haven't had too many problems getting interviews (and second interviews in some cases), and I've been told that my interview technique is fine, but I always seem to fall short at the final hurdle due to lack of experience.

Since June, I've been doing part-time web design/development for a friend, who's passing me work on a freelance basis. But my artistic skills are far too limited to be a designer and I definitely do not want to be working freelance at this stage in my career. After the company we share an office with invited me for an interview for a programming role, it made me realise that I'm not a programmer either and that I should get back to doing what I enjoy most and what I'm best at, which is IT support.

After that interview, I've started doing voluntary work at a community centre where I've been helping to fix any problems with the computers there, reinstalling drivers, removing spyware etc, and also advising the centre manager on how the network can be improved. But to be honest, there's only so much I can do because there isn't a great deal wrong with the system they already have in place. The manager has recommended me to other centres in the area, but I haven't heard anything back yet as he's been away ill.