Looking for a decent training company:

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by kaladon, Oct 1, 2009.

1. kaladon

kaladon New Member

Hey there folks,

firstly let me say this site and community look pretty damn good! Ive spent the last little while reading over vasious bits and bobs and its convinced me to ask you guys/girls for advice on this matter.

Ive been working in IT for about 6 years now and playing around with pc's in general since i was around 8 (a meager 18 years ago:blink). I started off working in a shop just building box's, installing OS's of choice and general fixes. Moved into working 1st/2nd line for a major ISP (:twisted: <--- thats a clue as to which one) before moving out of that area and off to the lovely city where i am now. got up here and started working as a Remote Desktop type for a major City council in London. Now due to the lovely legacy nature of our infrastructure and the uselesness of we kind of need to deal with alot of things that would normally fall under server's preview not RD's.

Now ive been looking to get the finger out and progress down the MCSA/E path for some time and I would also like to (at some point) get some certs on SMS (or whatever they are calling it these days ;))

Now im not massivly good at self study as i tend to go "OH thats cool" when i read something then dash off and mess around with it for ages then lose focus on what I was actually doing. So when i heard i had a nice sum of cash coming my way i thought "Well... why the hell not see if I can do a course in XYZ?" Already have the MS books for the core exams sitting here so handy to have a guess.

I had alook at Firebrand and thought well ok lests look for some reviews and on here found them very mixxed but leaning towards the negitive. NITLC could be another possability i guess.

so folks, any suggestions to hammer me on my way or should i give up and just get hammered instead!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2009
    WIP: MCSE