Logging on locally?

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by beaumontdvd, Feb 11, 2010.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone, sorry if this is a stupid post. But to be honest I'm not that good at servers and I'm trying my best to improve. I always get confused with this. Logging on locally, when someone refers to that does it mean logging onto the local computer? By changing the drop down button on the log on to. To this computer?

Or can you log on locally to a domain? Like for example entering your credentials for the domain and granted access?

Hope someone can help,

Thanks,
    Dave

Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

You're right. Logging in locally means loggin in onto computer's local account (ie not a domain account). But you can still log in remotely using RDP into local account and it's still logging in locally.

WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  3. beaumontdvd

oh right thought so, so you cannot login to a domain locally? Just the local account to the computer. So I guess any local permissions set on the computer on apply to the local account?

Thanks,
    Dave

4. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

There's is no such thing as domain local login. User accounts are local or domain wide. And yes local permissions apply to local accounts. Also you can add domain accounts to local permissions for example you can make domain user an administrator or power user on local machine while within the domain he would only be a domain user.

To try this out. Create a basic domain user. Log in onto client machine with administrator rights, go into control panel -> user accounts, click "Add...". Enter domain user name and domain name and click next. Make him an Administrator.
    Now logout and relog as that user. You're administrator on this machine while you're just a normal user across the domain.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2010