Life after MCSA....

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Kraven, Jun 3, 2008.

1. Kraven

Kraven Kilobyte Poster

Hey guys,

I've got one more exam to pass to get my MCSA, but when I pass I dont know what to do next.

I'm a PC technician and I'm enjoying the job. I've been working there around 5 months now so I'm still learning loads. I always like to be learning or studying something new but I dont know what cert to move onto.

I was thinking about going for the MS vista (70-620) exam as I havent used it much but my collegues advised we wouldnt be implementing Vista for years so theres no point. I was also thinking about doing the Linux+ exam just to learn alot more about linux but I dont get any exposure to it at work. Another idea was to do the A+ as its aimed at the job I'm doing but it's a basic cert compared to what I've got already.

I know I could go for the MCSE but I'm not really interested in doing the exams for it.

Any ideas or advice?

Thanks
    Kraven

Certifications: Network+, MCSA, 70-680
    WIP: A+, 70-685
  2. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

yes personally I would not really bother with the A+ unless you did that first. My thinking is I completed my A+ to get my foot it the IT door a number of years ago, now if I had an mcsa it would suggest a different role entirely mostly roles that fit the mcsa exactly dont actually get to see the insides of a pc at all (in that sized environment if it goes wrong the computer gets replaced).

I think that learning about linux would be a very positive step as it seems to have the best chance of being any alternative to windows (especially as you can intergrate them now as member servers in a domain). But again its something I would proberbly tinker with in the background and concerntrate on something a bit more current. Personally I'm quite partial to a citrix cert as citrix is pretty much a defacto standard for remote working.