learning routes

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Deepan, Nov 23, 2006.

1. Deepan

Deepan New Member

hiya guys, newbie here...

i've just seen a nice consultant from "skillstrain" who didnt hound me to sign, or give me any other guarentees, apart from in the unlikely case that i fail, they will keep trianing me until i pass.

he didnt guarentee that i'd get a job after this course, only that they would help me in the interviews, and give me mock interviews to help me.

the thing i wanted to ask, and i know that this would be a personal question, but i want to know...what is a better route to the ccna, n+ and a+...skillstrain (self learn + tutor + live labs) or University (tutored classes and labs) the price differs at about £200.

all input is appreciated.

Deepan

ps: i've only paid the refundable registration fee so far, he made the point of telling me i have 21 days to decide if i want to go ahead.

WIP: A+, N+, CCNA
  2. r.h.lee

r.h.lee Gigabyte Poster

Deepan,

Can the University courses lead to a degree?

Certifications: MCSE, MCP+I, MCP, CCNA, A+
    WIP: CCDA
  3. Deepan

Deepan New Member

I dont know that, all it says on the site (london met or middlesex uni) is that you pay for the teaching in material, and exams. from that i'd say no, but without asking i wouldnt know.

another thing is that im currently doing a foundation course at kingston uni, which providing i pass will allow me onto an undergraduate course (computer science - Mcomp, software engineering) but this is something i want to do instead of the foundation course, as its a repeat of my AS levels, which i passed.
    i can defer my entry or apply again next september for the course wich should be no problemo, leaving me enough time to do this course.

Deepan

4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Deepan, are you currently working or are you a full time student?

5. Deepan

Deepan New Member

working part time, and full time student

6. Sandy