1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Learning C#

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by nellyp123, Jul 26, 2008.

1. nellyp123

nellyp123 Byte Poster

I just started learning C# and i have a book called Beginning C# 2008 by jack Purdum. Just wondered is anyone
    else learning C# (or ASP.NET) and using or used this book. If not then what book are you using.

I'm asking this because i don't want to start learning C# without a decent book as i did when i started learning Actionscript 3.0. I brought two books on Actionscript and couldn't get on with either of them, so i wasted a lot of my time and money until i eventually found one. Also i have downloaded the free visual C# Express edition and wondered if this will be suffice?

Sorry if this has been asked before on here, but I'm to lazy to look!!!!! :biggrin
    Certifications: CIW Professional
  2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Not into programming myself but you may also wnat to check the MS e-learning. This is the stuff :

There may be some free stuff in there
    Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

I keep meaning to get into C#, but i never get around to it.

I develop in vb.net, and some of the other guys here know C++ (and possibly c#). Vb and c# are close enough functionally, that if you need any help, just let us know. we should be able to offer some help.
    Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  4. jo74

jo74 Byte Poster

Check out this posting on Certforums http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/thread23824.html
    It's a review of a book called Head First C#
    Certifications: A+, N+, Sec+
  5. Davidus

Davidus Nibble Poster

Hi Nellyp123