Layout Standards?

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by tobo, Dec 12, 2008.

1. tobo

tobo Bit Poster

Hi I am quite new to web design and want to understand some of the standard working practices. any replies or help is welcome.

firstly I'm curiouse about div areas. is it practical/standard to use many div's within div's as way to layout a page/site? or is this just exessive and could it slow down load time?

next is about Tables. are they used as much now? I understand there use for layouts depriciated but is there a reason since they seem to me to be quite simple to use?

What is the issues regarding the use of frames? I often use iframes in sites I have created I find them extremely helpful. Are they acceptible/standard?

and lastly if I were to design a site for a client and host it? Who would I continue to ern revenue from that client with hosting costs and SEO? how much is acceptible to charge for hosting?

I hope these questions arent to nieve but I would appreciate some advice and am happy to be told if I have the wrong end of the stick. :oops:

Many thanks! :D

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Unfortunately web design is not one of my fields, someone with alot more experience in this field should be along soon, however as you're doing the CIW Managers course, should it have been already covered?

Or when you say you're doing the course, do you mean you've booked the whole 5 modules at the same time and currently doing the Foundation exam?

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. ThomasMc

ThomasMc Gigabyte Poster

I would expect it to be common practice by now, IMO it makes your code a bit easier to read and manage.

Nope.

Can do.

Here is an example layout using divs

HTML: