Just passed.. now what!

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by thelongmile, Sep 8, 2008.

1. thelongmile

thelongmile New Member

Ok, so about a week ago I took and passed my MCDST.

I was actually more nervous about the 271 test than the 272 test, yet I got higher marks on the 271.
    It wasn't a particularly hard exam, but now I'm in a dilemma.

First off, I've no commercial experience in IT whatsoever, so I'm desperatley looking to break into the IT. Unfortunatley even for the most basic roles at the moment, it seems there are alot of people that are requesting two years experience (and from speaking to some companies, it tends to be recruitment companies that either don't know what they are doing or trying to put off the hobbyists). It's a shame though, but, I have a few questions to anyone whos passed an MCDST exam.

First up, if you've gotten a job from this certification, what job? as in what is your title?
    Reason I am asking, is, all too often it seems to go beyond just desktop support, and everyone seems to have a different title. MCDST / Desktop Support / Analyst... what exactly is your title and what should I be looking at?

Secondly, How much of your MCDST training do you actually use in the 'real world'?
    I'm interested to know how much of it will be used, as I've heard some stories saying that, you wont use anything at all, or you will use all of it, have you found another training more usefull?

Thirdly, Where next?