just it, cerco etc...

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by edgar, Jul 31, 2012.

1. edgar

edgar New Member

Hi!
    I'm a self-thought computer enthusiast who wants to change his career and get into it support job. I know pc and windows administration topics well enough to pass exams like A+, 70-680 swiftly. I did just recently ccna for fun :) just to see how hard it is. I don't have a degree. I know few guys with uni degrees in computing who struggled to get any interviews for many many months until they joined fdm group. I would go that route happily if only I got a degree which is a prerequisite for them. So I'm stuck with options like JustIT or Cerco. First one is costly but can expose to 1st line support jobs, second one is free but I think you end up with occasional irregular Epos support jobs. Any advice or experience about JustIT vs Cerco would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Rather than going down that route go down the usual route of applying for roles, blanket out your CV, speak to local charities and churches etc to get some support experience under your belt and just carry on trying.

I would be reluctant of giving money to a company to get me a job (or even having a company deduct money from my salary) and would prefer to go down the route of finding work myself.

I am sorry to say that for the most part there have been a lot of horror stories about various companies using this technique and very few fairy tales about things just 'falling' into place for anyone.

Unfortunately with the recession we are in it's unlikely that you will have a lot of opportunities of finding just the right job straight away, I know of guys here who spent months if not years trying to get their first IT role so you're not on your own. Just carry on trying and do your best (have a look at my post here to get some more ideas.